Security

You are currently browsing the archive for the Security category.

clippyRemember MS’s ill-fated get the facts campaign? Well… they’re at it again.

This time, they’re bribing offering a course called ExpertZone to employees of Best Buy in America (sort of like America’s PC World, and I wouldn’t be surprised if a similar campaign appeared in Gordonland before much longer.) Incidentally, on taking the “course”, said employees get a $10 copy of Windows 7. Hmm.

So a member at Overclock.net has kindly provided screenshots… however, due to Photobucket’s terribleness, they’ve exceeded their bandwidth limit. Not to worry… they’re mirrored here, and they’re probably floating around on 4chan as well. And they might have *cough* accidentally appeared on this site, too.

One of the modules of said course is entitled something along the lines of “Linux vs. Windows 7.”

I won’t list them all, because some of them are so full of horseshit that they’re toxic. Some of them aren’t too bad… however, these ones are. (Follow the show original post link to show these if they don’t appear, or follow the “read more” link if you’re viewing this from the site.)

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Well, I suppose it had to happen eventually. A distributed denial of service attack hit Twitter this morning, meaning the merry collective of twittering twits suffered from various symptoms, including inability to post tweets, timeouts, empty-document errors and general slowness.

Do not panic. *whispers* There is still the real world. If you absolutely must procrastinate, Minesweeper is a good fallback.

Tags: , , ,

Spam is one of those things that’s often so bad, it’s good. Today, I received one of those messages. It was sent to the hello@crashedpips.co.uk e-mail address (obviously harvested, from here) and I present the text below:

Dear customers,
Thank you for using our new service “Buy airplane ticket Online” on our website.
Your account has been created:

Your login: hello@crashedpips.co.uk
Your password: passRHK6

Your credit card has been charged for $669.57.
We would like to remind you that whenever you order tickets on our website you get a discount of 10%!
Attached to this message is the purchase Invoice and the flight ticket.
To use your ticket, simply print it on a color printed, and you are set to take off for the journey!

Kind regards,
Spirit Airlines

There are multiple reasons why this is dubious.

  1. I never booked a flight, and the idea I would do so with Spirit Airlines is ludicrous. Because they operate in the Americas as an ultracheap airline (a bit like EasyJet in the UK, but without as much orange.)
  2. As Spirit is an ultracheap airline, $669 (even with the current state of the dollar) is excessive.
  3. Printer is mis-spelled printed. It seems unlikely that a medium-size airline (still quite a large operation) would make such a mistake – can they not afford a dictionary?
  4. The ‘invoice’ and ‘flight ticket’ are attached in a ZIP file, apparently. Examination of the zip file reveals – yes, you guessed it – Ticket_N141-SK.exe, which looks suspiciously like a virus. I’ll be sending this off to some antivirus companies for analysis.
  5. They’ve obviously put in no effort with header spoofing whatsoever: the ‘from’ address is kvtgady (at] bradshawplace (full stop) com (address obfuscated to prevent spam to the (possibly) innocent owner of this address).
  6. Yep, the usual “Dear Customers” opening line (surprise, surprise).
  7. This is perhaps the most important point of all. It demolishes the e-mail’s premise in one swipe: I don’t even have a damn credit card. Even if I did, I’d have paid in pounds or euros, rather than dollars. If I did have to pay in dollars, I would have sent the money using a money transfer service or simply by popping a cheque in the post.

For the record, I’ve tried to contact Spirit about this, but the only phone numbers I can find are for their reservations centre, and the only e-mail addresses I can find are for comments on the Web site. If anyone can source a number or address direct to Spirit’s HQ, I’d be very grateful – it’s best the airline knows about this so it can post an advisory in its website.

EDIT: I’ve sent the file to McAfee and its online scanner says it’s spy-agent.bw. An extra .dat file is being issued for this – I’ll see what McAfee’s rules on redistribution are, and if it’s OK with them I might mirror it here for if you’re using a McAfee scanner. Meanwhile, Symantec won’t let me show them the virus unless I pay them money, and Sophos’s process is long and irritating.

The file will now be shredded to protect other machines on my network.

Tags: , , ,

« Older entries